Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Anthology Volume IV

SKU: V0254

The Jacana Literary Foundation is pleased to announce the shortlist and finalists for the Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award 2014.

The jury, comprising distinguished South African poets Johann de Lange, Goodenough Mashego, and Ingrid de Kok, selected 82 poems out of the 303 entries received to be published in this year’s anthology. 


The Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award is supported by the European Union. The annual Award, named after Solomon Tshekisho Plaatje (1876–1932) and now in its fourth year, recognises the life and vision of this highly respected political and social activist. As Plaatje’s works did in his time, these poems reveal the political and social attitudes of our time.


Poets included in the 2014 Anthology

Jim Pascual Agustin, Kyle Steven Allan, Adewole Armah , Saaleha Idrees Bamjee, Suzan-Jane Kathleen Bell, Ayanda Billie, Fadwah Booley, Sindiswa Busuka, Zethu Cakata, Ntyatyi Christian, Margaret Clough, Christine Coates, Lise Day, Gail Dendy, Abigail George, Sunelle Geyer, Kerry Hammerton, Vernon R.L. Head, Colleen Higgs, Sandra Hill, Rochelle Jacobs, Thabo Jijana, Justine Joseph, Moses Nzama Khaizen, Gertrude Trudi Makhaya, Katise Mawela, Frank Meintjies, Komiso Mfingo, Andrew Miller, Janine Jocelyn Milne, Jackie Mondi, Nedine Moonsamy, Nick Mulgrew, Eduan Naudé, Pam Newham, Sizakele Nkosi, Lazola Pambo, Thabo Seseane, Francine Simon, Annette Snyckers, Dianne Stewart, Jan Tromp, Susan Woodward, Sithembele Xhengwana.


Author: Various Poets
ISBN: 978-1-4314-2025-4 
E-book ISBN:  
Size (mm): 290x135mm
Pages: 248pp
Format: Paperback
Colour: Black and White 
Rights: World
Language: English
Publication Date: October 2014
Availability In Stock