Caine Prize for African Writing

cainelogoThe Caine Prize for African Writing is Africa’s leading literary prize, and is awarded to a short story by an African writer published in English, whether in Africa or elsewhere. Each year the winning story and short-listed entries are collected and published in one volume.

For more information please visit the Caine Prize website.
Results 1 - 10 of 12

A is for Ancestors

A is for Ancestors is the fourth collection of works from the Caine prize for African Writing. The 2003 winner was Yvonne Adhiambo-Owuor from Kenya...

Product details


Tenderfoots is a collection of short stories by the winner and short listed authors of the prestigious Caine Prize for African Writing 2000. The...

Product details

Timbuktu, Timbuktu

Timbuktu, Timbuktu contains the winning and short listed stories from the Caine Prize for African Writing 2001. Bringing together writers from...

Product details

Discovering Home

Discovering Home is the third collection of stories from the Caine Prize for African Writing and includes works by writers from Nigeria, Kenya,...

Product details

Seventh Street Alchemy

This is the fifth anthology of Caine Prize shortlisted stories, and the third to include the proceedings of a Caine Prize African Writers' Workshop.

Product details


Many young South Africans are facing a massive crisis of identity, but none so great as those in the ghettos. For them little has changed and Nelson...

Product details

African Violet and other stories

Nigeria’s Rotimi Babatunde has won the 2012 Caine Prize for African Writing, described as Africa’s leading literary award, for his short story...

Product details

A Memory this Size and Other Stories

A chronically shortsighted young man finds himself the target of a preacher’s miracle cure… Despite his American street phrases and his fistful of...

Product details

The Gonjon Pin and other stories The Caine Prize for African writing 2014

Selected from a record number of eligible entries, 140 stories from 17 African countries, this anthology contains the five stories from the 15th...

Product details