Presenting Jacob Dlamini's Askari

A story of collaboration and betrayal in the anti-apartheid struggle

Jacob Dlamini's new book is erudite, provactive, eloquent – and mysterious. It expands the genre of South African non-fiction and our understanding of the nature of betrayal – Mark Gevisser

Click here for more information or to buy the book online.
Read the Full Story

New Releases

  • Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Anthology Volume IV
  • Askari
  • Uncertain Curature
  • Bollywood Blonde
  • Send in the Clowns
  • Surviving Flight 295: Life after the Helderberg
  • The Search for the Rarest Bird in the World
  • A Bit of Difference
  • Oscar: An Accident Waiting to Happen
  • Love. Loss. Life.
  • Girls on Fire
  • Close to Home
  • Declassified
  • Coolie Woman
  • Election 2014: The Campaigns, Results and Future Prospects
  • Sam and Me & the Hard Pear Tree
  • Courage to Lead: Leadership lessons from Kilimanjaro
  • The Class of 79
  • The Side of the Sun at Noon
  • Mandela’s Kinsmen: Nationalist Elites and Apartheid's First Bantustan
  • I See You
  • DemoCRAZY: SA's Twenty-year Trip
  • Memoirs of a Born Free: Reflections on the Rainbow Nation
  • The New Radicals: A Generational Memoir of the 1970s
  • Sunderland
  • Cuito Cuanavale: Frontline Accounts by Soviet Soldiers
  • Another Country: South Africa’s New Portraits
  • White Paper, White Ink
  • Catastrophe: Oy Vey, my Child is Gay (and an Addict)
  • Blood Money: The Cyril Karabus Story

The Sol Plaatje EU Poetry Award finalists announced and anthology to be launched

The Jacana Literary Foundation is pleased to announce the shortlist and finalists for the Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award 2014.

The jury, comprising distinguished South African poets Johann de Lange, Goodenough Mashego, and Ingrid de Kok, selected 82 poems out of the 303 entries received to be published in this year’s anthology. The jury furthermore deliberated on which entries should be shortlisted, and this list was sent to celebrated poet and author, Dr Mongane Wally Serote, who then decided upon a list of three finalists, and eventually, the winner. All judging is done anonymously.

The finalists are:

Rochelle Jacobs, for the poem “Something Other”.

Thabo Jijana, for the poem “Children Watching Old People”.

Jim Pascual Agustin, for the poem “Illegal, Undocumented”.

The winner of the Sol Plaatje Poetry Award will be announced at a reception at the Goethe-Institut, Johannesburg, on Tuesday 4 November, by a European Union Delegation representative. The three finalists receive cash prizes, and the anthology, consisting of poems in English, Afrikaans, isiXhosa, Sepedi and Setswana, will be launched the same evening. Next year the Award will resume its association with the Poetry Africa festival held anually in Durban, which was sadly interrupted this year.

The Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award is supported by the European Union. The annual Award, named after Solomon Tshekisho Plaatje (1876–1932) and now in its fourth year, recognises the life and vision of this highly respected political and social activist. As Plaatje’s works did in his time, these poems reveal the political and social attitudes of our time.



Send in the Clowns with the new Madam & Eve

Jacana Media is sending in the clowns with the new Madam & Eve annual. 


They’re back, and better than ever! This year sees the release of the twenty-second Madam & Eve, Send in the Clowns, and it is another winner from this sharp and witty creative team.

Featuring the humour South Africans have come to know and love, this Madam & Eve promises to be a laugh a minute, and it is sure to be a family favourite and welcome addition to any bookshelf.


Click here for more information or to buy the book online

Camilla Comins and the "Girls on Fire" on Expresso


Girls on Fire is typically aimed at girls who feel sick of going to braais where the guys stand around the fire drinking and chatting and burning the meat. It is time for girls to claim their right to cook decent food and pretty up the braai area for this pivotal South African social activity.


Click here to learn more or to buy the book online

Author of the Week


  Richard de Nooy

Richard de Nooy (1965) grew up in Johannesburg, but has lived in Amsterdam for the past 25 years. His first novel Six Fang Marks & a Tetanus Shot (Jacana, 2007) won the University of Johannesburg Prize for Best First Book, received honourable mention at the M-Net Literary Award, and was long-listed for the Sunday Times Fiction Award. De Nooy was awarded a grant by the Dutch Foundation for Literature to write his second novel in Dutch.

More information
Click here to visit Richard's website
Click here to view the author's blog on Books Live
Follow Richard on Twitter (@RicharddeNooy)

Find out more about our authors. To locate author profiles and read more about their books and their lives, browse the list below. Authors are sorted alphabetically by their first names.


Book Search

Secure shopping

VisaMasterClick to Browse


We have 41 guests and no members online

Jacana Tweets

JacanaMedia @ronesh our absolute pleasure. Happy reading
JacanaMedia RT @PublishersWkly: Big Losses, Big Questions for Amazon
JacanaMedia Join Ebrahim Ebrahim and Makhosazana Xaba for a Discussion of Askari by Jacob Dlamini at Wits University
JacanaMedia RT @janremm: Jacob Dlamini: "I see this book Askari as a molotov cocktail...a provocation" #apartheidcollaboration cc @JacanaMedia http://t…
JacanaMedia Jacana Media Expresses Sympathy at the Untimely Passing of Gerald Kraak

Join our mailing list

Upcoming Events

Bollywood Blonde at Bayliss Gallery
Bollywood Blonde at Bayliss Gallery

Join Gené Gualdi and Melinda Ferguson at the launch of Bollywood Blonde and get the inside story of the world’s biggest movie industry.  [ ... ]

Khanyisa Book Project

Khanyisa Book Project-1
Donate books and get involved

Agencies we represent

Think NewLogo
log ok
LM-Logo web
DM GroupText Centre cmyk
FW Logotype
paradigm logo

kyle Books mid

You can help

For all Jacana events: Please bring high quality children’s and young adults’ books, in good condition, to donate to Equal Education’s book drive for school libraries.10% of all Jacana Books sold at the event will also go to Equal Education for their library book drive. This is a Jacana Media, Book Lounge, Cape Times and Equal Education initiave.